Carolyn Pitches Elected School Board Chair, Amit Hickman Named Vice Chair

Carolyn Pitches and Amit Hickman were elected chair and vice chair to the City of Fairfax School Board at their first regular meeting of the 2024-2025 school year. 
In addition, the board named school board members to serve in leadership positions.
  • Rachel McQuillen will be the school board representative to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board.
  • Hickman will be the delegate to the Virginia School Board Association convention.
  • Pitches and Sarah Kelsey will be the representatives to the Washington Area Boards of Education. 
  • Stacy Hall will be the school board representative to the Environmental Sustainability Committee. 
The Board also named the City of Fairfax representatives to a number of Fairfax County Public School committees including:
  • Brenda Silvia Torma as City of Fairfax Schools Health Advisory Committee Member
  • Kate Hermann as City of Fairfax Schools Facilities Planning Advisory Committee member
  • Mary Kay Ciziunas as City of Fairfax Schools Advisory Committee for Students with Disabilities member
  • Leslie Plummer as City of Fairfax Schools Advanced Academic Program Advisory Council member 
  • Juliana Nelson as City of Fairfax Schools Minority Student Achievement Oversight Committee member
The School Board positions will be in effect through December. In January, a new school board will be in place following the November elections. 
The FCPS committee members will serve through June, 2025.